Data intergrity and the use of dataports

Hi, I’m new to Dynamics NAV but have been working with other ERP systems in the past as a support consultant / ERP implementer. I do not have a programming background, however I have a good knowledge of database structure… well enough to get me in trouble anyway…[:)].

I have been able to create dataports to import general journals, this has allowed me to bring in a companies general ledger, debtor and creditor balances, then post within Dynamics NAV to insure the data is populating the correct tables. However, when I import invoice history, I am importing directly to the Sales Invoice (Header/lines) tables. I am worried that this will cause a data integrity issues when reporting on historical (imported) sales as not all tables have been updated (i.e. Value Entry, Item Ledger), and not all fields within the Sales Invoices table have been updated.

Now, here are my questions… should I try and import the data using dataports into each of the individual tables that I believe are updated when standard NAV posts an invoice? This poses the same data intergrity risks, just with more tables involved. Or should I investigate bringing in the data through the sales table and posting in NAV? I’m sure if I had a little bit more knowledge with C/AL code I could use this to my advantage to populate the tables, so am I wasting my time trying to import without NAV programming knowledge? Or the big one…

Should I forget about reporting on historical data?

Any feedback on this matter would be greatly appreciated.

I, Alex

I think your approach is correct. In Navision the only purpose for tables Sales Invoice Header and Sales Invoice Line is printing. Once you have printed an invoice at least once, you are allowed to delete it from the abovesaid tables without a second thought. All other related data are kept.