Coding Standards

Hi All,

I wanted to raise a topic here and get the community view. How do you code? I attempt to stick to the MS Standard as much as possible, in defining variable names etc…

Now I’ve been coding Nav for 9 years odd now so I’ve seen many different ways to code. As far as I was aware solution centers “should” stick to the Nav standard, which is contained in a PDF file.

So for example I would declare a variable for the Sale Header record as :

SaleHeader

But I’ve seen the Hungarian notation used more and more which would be :

recSaleHeader

I’ve seen an ISV product that has Hungarina Notation as the code, which was a shock to me as the product was/is endursoded by Microsoft.

I thought in the endorsing that Microsoft agreed the product was up to Microsoft’s standards, and Microsoft does not code in Hungarian.

So I am interested in a debate on this, Hungarian or Not, whats the benefits, does it really go against MS standards?

T

I don’t like Hungarian, for 2 reasons:

1 - I don’t need a prefix telling me that SalesHeader is a rec variable or that the control variable in a FOR EACH loop is an Integer. Most of the time the code is self explanatory, that’s why you should use actual names for variables. The prefixes that I do use are ‘loc’ for locals, and ‘par’ for parameters

2 - I always check data types in the Globals and Locals list anyway, just to make sure. I don’t trust other developers to do it right [;)]

Other than that I usually try to follow ‘standard NAV’, even though that’s a bit of a fuzzy concept. Really though, as long as you use reasonably easy to read variable names, it is all ok. It is helpful to have one standard when working in one team.

Much more important than how you name variables is to properly comment and document your work.

Very good topic to raise.

Same as you, I try to stick to the standards. If someone else picks it up. Its easy for them to understand.