Codeunit to Update Global Dimensions in G/AL Entry Table

Hi all,

I am new in NAVISION and I have problems to update Global Dimensions fields in table G/L Entry.

Please can you advice me how to do this?

Best,

Maddy

What version of Nav you are using? The way to update ledger entry dimension has changed from previous version to current version, hence it will be helpful if you can let me know which version are we dealing here.

What version of Nav you are using? The way to update ledger entry dimension has changed from previous version to current version, hence it will be helpful if you can let me know which version are we dealing here.

I am using NAV 2017

Ok, are you planning to update the Global dimension fields via a spreadsheet in other words you have a spreadsheet with G/L entry entry no. and dimension value or you want to hardcode the dimensions for all the transactions.

I need to hardcode it. So what I need is that for all entries that do not have Global Dimension 1 Code or Global Dimension 2 Code filled i need to fill them using table Dimension Set Entry by Dimension Set Id.

Ok, the simple way to do this would be in the G/L entry table create the below function. You will need developer license.

ValidateShortcutDimCode(FieldNumber : Integer;VAR ShortcutDimCode : Code[20])
DimMgt.ValidateShortcutDimValues(FieldNumber,ShortcutDimCode,“Dimension Set ID”);

Declare a local variable Dimmgt codeunit Dimensionmanagement.

Now create a new processing only report with G/L entry as dataitem and run through the G/L entry table.

If “global dimension 1 code” = ‘’ then begin

validateshortcutdimcode(1,‘110’); //1 is the global dimension 1 code and 110 is the global dimension 1 value

“global dimension 1 code” := '110;

modify;

end;

If “global dimension 2 code” = ‘’ then begin

validateshortcutdimcode(2,‘210’); //2 is the global dimension 1 code and 210 is the global dimension 2 value

“global dimension 2 code” := '210;

modify;

end;