Basic Journal Batch creation

Hi guys

I’m a little embarrassed to have to ask such a basic question but I’m having trouble with what I gather should be a very basic function of Navision. Several years ago the organization I work for switched the journal entry process from keying directly in the Navision module to creating all journals in an excel template and then uploading them.

I’ve no experience using the general journal screens in Navision but when I refer to our (very out of date) user manual I see there are three components to the journal entry process. The Journal template, journal batch, and journal line. The problem comes up when we try to create multiple journals within a single batch, please let me try to explain:

This is my process; General Ledger > General Journals > Batch name > (select a batch) > Start to create journal by keying the lines > Stop.

At this point, I would like to leave my journal entry (un-posted) and move to the next screen and create a second journal, and then a third etc. all within this batch so that a reviewer can post the whole batch. How do I do this?

There are several options on the bottom such as import from excel, post, etc. but what is bizarre is that unless I actually post my own entry I cannot key a second journal. This can’t be a true limitation of Navision, could it??? I wonder if some of the customization done to our Navision has created this problem, besides shouldn’t a batch contain several entries, can anyone help?? One other question, could any of you recommend a good commercially available book that provides training in the very basics of Navision, I need to really get a handle on this application in a short time while we decide if we want to keep it or just cut our losses and swith to something more accounting minded.

Thanks

Welcome to DUG!!!