AX2012 Model & Model Store

Hi Friends,

I am new to AX2012, I have gone through internet but ,I have few questions regarding models:

1. When do we create a new model , per project wise or per client wise.

2. As only a element can be a part of one model , the what happens if we need that element in other model?

thanks

It’s up to you how to organize your development. The general suggestion is creating a model per product, although you might want more granular units (e.g. a separate module for labels). Creating a new model for each project is normally not a good idea, because you’ll likely need the same AOT node in more than one project.

If you have models using the same object, your models are probably not well designed. Merge the models, move one of them to another layer or redesign your code (e.g. attaching events instead of changing a common method).

Hi Martin,

Much clear from your responce , thanks. however I have one confusion. For Models everywhere i find this:

Each element in a layer must belong to only one model.

However, I created two model in same layer and was able to put SalesTable from in both model.

Can you please explain what the above sentence means?

thanks,

It’s not the whole form what’s considered as “element” in this case. The form has methods, data source node and controls and each of them is a separate element with its own information about model. For example, you can’t have one method in two models, but you can have two methods in the same form belonging to different models.

But you can get into another problem - if you use source control (and you really should), it’s the whole form what’s versioned and it doesn’t work if sub-nodes belong to multiple models.

Hi Martin,

In .xpo file we can compare , and can select the code that is to be promoted. For ex, I have added Field F1 &F2 in a table ,i can compare and select only F1 to be promoted in TEST environment.