Average Costing Method

I hope someone can help, as i seem to have come to a dead end in my investigations and have an increasingly frustrated customer… Can any one tell me whether they have experienced problems with the acceptance of average cost calculations in Navision (I’m working on 3.60). My customer believes that the average costing is fundamentally incorrect, in that it does not use any expected costs in the average cost calculation. This can result in 1. A negative inventory G/L account when you have inventory. 2. Incorrect postings to COGS for sales where the purchase invoice has not yet been posted. Number two is more serious, as the profit calculations will be overstated until the actual costs come in. Navision does not post an accrual for expected cost of goods sold for average costed items, and there is no audit trail to find out what the expected profits are. Please can someone help???

Hi Alison Not being an accountant I cannot comment on the UK validity of Average costing, and even if I did I do not believe someone else’s interpretation would appease your frustrated customer. However as you are running 3.60 have you turned on expected costing? This will post the expected cost in order to get an estimate of the cost of the received items before receiving the actual invoice. These costs go to the interim accounts set-up against the posting groups. I have not looked at this at all, and I am unsure how this would work with average costing, but it is something you may want to look at. I will also enquire about the Average costing validity, but I have heard of no complaints before (that I can remember). Hold on in there![:D]

Thanks Steven (? Xonitek - are you in winchester - thats just down the road from me!) We have ticked the expected cost posting, and surprisingly, this does not have any impact upon posted COGS for average costed items. Whether that was intentional I’m not sure - hopefully I’ll get to the bottom of this soon… x