auto generated mail

hi…

I need to send a autogenerated mail when my Inventory falls below Reorder point.Is it possible to send a autogenerated mail in Nav 4.0.If so ,how should i do.

I’m looking a NAV 5, right now can’t see a NAV 4 but take a look to Codeunit 400 SMTP Mail

Hi

Business Notification can be used.

AShish

can u tell me wat is business notification and how to use it

There is no code unit called SMTP MAil in Nav 4.0.There is only Codeunit 397 Mail.But it is just opening outlook.I think it is not useful to send a autogenerated mail

I see many useful functions on this codeunit 397 too, NewMessage, Send, ValidateMail… anyway take a look at this link of relationed threads in this site:

http://dynamicsuser.net/search/SearchResults.aspx?q=send+email

Bavani, Although I am a beginner at NAV, I have employed this simple solution using CodeUnit 397 and it suits our purposes without resorting to Business Notification (which can be a bear, I’ve heard) or any other more complicated solution. I have made some minor modifications to the User Setup table, adding an Email field, and have created a new table (“event Subscription”) in which the “NewCustomer” function resides. This particular event function is called from triggers in the Customer table when a new customer card is created. It looks to see who I have identifed as a subscriber, looks for that related USERID’s email address in the User Setup table, determines if that recipient is specififed as a CC or To recipient, etc., etc.

The last parameter in the NewMessage function from CodeUnit 397 is FALSE in my example. That will automatically send the email from the account of the user whose actions caused the event to be triggered. It will not require the user’s interaction. If Outlook, for example, is already opened, the user would not have to do anything for the email to be sent.