App Builder or Solution Developer

Hello Nav Developers, I’m new to the Navision world and may have got the terms in the subject incorrect. Any way, we are in negotiations with a provider right now to bring 6 of our glass distributions centers on-line using Nav 2.6. We have discussed buying only the application builder, but I’m concerned that we may need the more advanced features. Here’s a little background: Being in the auto glass industry, we have what’s called the National Auto Glass Specifications (NAGS) that are used as a standard for our inventory part numbers. We will have to integrate the NAGS tables into Navision for parts lookups, vehicle lookups, Navision item record updates, interchangeables, list prices, etc… As you can imagine, the NAGS tables (over 30 of them) are complex and come to us quarterly via flat files. Here’s the question’s: 1. Do you think we will be able to perform the quarterly updates to NAGS using the App Builder by itself? 2. If we build a middle tier via VB, would we be able to call dll’s via navision to kick off VB lookup/update routines? 3. Do you think the solution developer tool is worth it? 4. How might you approach this? Thanks for your input, Bill Reese Guardian Auto Glass bill.reese@guardian.com