and again: Navision and Excel...PLEASE HELP!

Hello! I am working on a project in which I have to transfer fields from MS Excel to Navision. Everything works except for one thing: Some of the fields in Excel are far over 250 chars. (Its about pricelists, these fields contain descriptions). How can I get these fields to Navision? For the information: one of the goals of this project is to make sure the end-users won’t have to do anything with Excel themselves: the only interface they have is Navisions’. Thanks. Anolis Netherlands

Hi, I think you can create Macro that will cut all fields up to 250 characters and run this Macro before start import. Valentin Gvozdev BMI Inc.

You just have to find a way to truncate those text fields. The simplest way is to make a new column which applies the Excel =LEFT() comnand to the original column. You shouldn’t lose much data anyway, because (unless I am mistaken or unless they changed this since I was a professional Excel 4.0 macro programmer) Excel can only have 256 characters of text in a field. The best way is to see if you can find the original text file that the spreadsheet was made from and use a nonprinting report to extract data directly from it (rather than going through Excel first.) ------- Tim Horrigan

Hi. You could try to look at the text import Mergetool uses to import objects. You should find this on you Navision CD, d:/merge/merge.fob etc. Regards Gudmundur Petursson