A few development questions.

Hi, I’m quite new to the development in Navision and I have a few questions that I’d like to know a bit more about. If there are some obvious places I should visit or if you have some links where I can 1. Is it possible to list available CodeUnits/Forms/Tables much like the object browser does? 2. Is it possible to “inject” a CodeUnit in textform into the navision database programatically? 3. Examples of using NAS with TCP/IP communication, I haven’t been able to find such examples. Anyone that could point me in the right direction? Thanks in advance.

1. Yes, take a look at Form 358 Objects, for example. There is an Object system table, where information about the objects are stored. 2) Yes, also on the Object table, there is a field BLOB Reference that can be used to either export or import objects. Note, however, that this will not export/import in the exact same file format as using the built-in Object Designer functions. 3) Try searching around the forum for NAS, you will probably find something useful. Good luck!

quote:

Originally posted by nelson
2) Yes, also on the Object table, there is a field BLOB Reference that can be used to either export or import objects. Note, however, that this will not export/import in the exact same file format as using the built-in Object Designer functions.

Doesn’t this BLOB field contain the compiled code only? I remember a thread where we discussed the import/export of objects (in text format) from within C/AL, and Jörg Stryk suggested using this field. Unfortunately, this yielded binary files only. However, Vicce seemed to ask for some sort of “self-modifying database” [:D], where some piece of C/AL code writes some other piece of C/AL code in form of a CU…